Minutes of the Shropshire Chess Association SGM 23rd September 2020

Attendance.

Francis Best (President), Matthew Clark (General Secretary), Christopher Lewis (Treasurer/ Rapid Controller), Nat Paul, , Nick Rutter (County Individual/Grading), Toby Neal, Steve Szwajkun, , Roger Brown, Nick Holmes (Website Manager), Dennis Bonner, John Casewell, Martin Ayres, Peter Crean, Mark Smith, Steve Wilson, John Westhead, Glyn Pugh, Adrian Bailey, Paul Billington,

- 1) Francis gave his President's Report, confirming his intention to stand down and giving a positive summary of his 10 years as President, discussing the growth of the Shropshire Congress and 10 competitive years of League Chess.
- 2) Chris submitted his proposed rules for the Online Competition. We agreed to organise 3 Online Leagues. Teams in Division 1 will be made up for 4 teams and teams in Divisions 2 and 3.
- 3) Chris' rules were all passed. The vast majority were unanimous. We agreed to use the 45/15 time limit by 19 votes to 1.
- 4) Mark's amendment to Rule 15 was passed.
 - (Please see the website for the confirmed rules for the online League this year)
- 5) Matthew Clark was unanimously elected as President and Nick Holmes was unanimously elected as General Secretary.
- 6) We discussed plans for over the board chess and covid readiness. We agreed that we are unlikely to resume over the board chess in the immediate future.
- 7) We agreed by 19 votes to 2 to play the Shropshire Individual competition online
- 8) We discussed the new 4 figure grading system and we thanked Chris for his outstanding leadership of our 4 NCL teams.